Trustee members of search committee for new Chancellor announced

Board of Trustees Vice Chair Joanne Alper to chair search effort

Syracuse University Board of Trustees Chairman Richard L. Thompson today announced the formation of a search committee to select the next chancellor and president of Syracuse University, and he has asked board vice chair, retired Judge Joanne F. Alper ’72, to chair the search committee.

Also announced were six other Trustees to serve on the committee: Peter A. Horvitz ’76, Christine E. Larsen G’84, Robert J. Miron ’59, Judith C. Mower ’66, G’73, G’80, G’84, Deryck A. Palmer ’78 and Reinaldo Pascual ’85. Chairman Thompson will serve as an ex officio member of the committee.

On Oct. 25, Thompson met with Senate Agenda Committee Chair Bruce Carter to discuss recommending faculty, students and staff for the committee. Once the Senate Committee completes its recommendations and they are reviewed by the Trustees, a schedule of next steps will be released in December.

Elizabeth Breul O’Rourke, secretary to the Board of Trustees, will serve as secretary to the search committee.

All media inquiries for Chairman Thompson and Board of Trustees members should be directed to Kevin Quinn, senior vice president for public affairs, at 315-443-8338.  

Share this story
Email this to someoneTweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on LinkedInShare on Google+